h1

Cruise Control

August 9, 2008

Hello out there. If there is anyone out there. Sometimes I don’t know why I keep this thing up but it is cathartic to me and if someone reads it then that is nice. I didn’t think I would enjoy blogging but I do.

So, God spoke to me the other day. I have been trying daily to live for him more and to live for me less. I have been trying to read my bible daily and pray more often. I know what you think that is easy. It really is not. The world is distracting and pulls me away. But in those moments when I am alone with God he speaks to me. The other day I was driving home from TR, for those who don’t know that is Travelers Rest, SC from visiting my grandparents. I was in the car and he spoke to my heart. I hear Perry, my church pastor say this all the time. I have heard GOD speak to me once before and he said “Be Patient” this time he said….. I am going to make you wait.

To preface this story I have had my car a little over 2 years and have not used the cruise control much. So on the way to TR I thought I would try it out and maybe it could help save gas. I was about to try it out on the way up there but nope my nursing judgement got in the way. I was like well if I use it and get in an accident then that will be negligent. And for those non-nurses that is what they use in a court of law is compare you to others in your profession. Now remember there is a cancel button the steering wheel. So I visited with the grandparents and then read the manual before leaving. On the way home I was working the controls and had it set. I liked it not pushing the gas pedal is nice. Well then the car began to speed up which is it supposed to on its own. I didn’t like this so I hit cancel. At that moment God spoke to me and said ” let me have control” I want to auto pilot my life and play the controls when God wants to. He wants to control this adventure and has great things planned for me if I will just surrender. There may be stops, bumps and detours but he will get me there.

Leave a comment